Heidi: 

I tweeted about a Bruno Mars song on Sunday night.

Heidi's tweet.

In my last blog, I said that upcoming blogs would focus on my practice of vulnerability.  Criticizing Bruno Mars’ lyrics over social media is not exactly what one would call ‘practicing vulnerability’.  In fact, I would say that it is quite the opposite.  I criticized behind a computer screen with no evidence to back up my critique.

As I was going to bed that night, I whipped out my phone and opened the notes section as I normally do.  Recently, I’ve been practicing a grateful journal in order to teach myself to stay in the moment during busy days.  I began writing one and then a pang of guilt hit me right in the stomach.  The tweet from earlier that day swept my thoughts.

If I am supposed to be grateful, noting my friends’ generosity or Downton Abbey’s great writing that lead me to new revelations, then how can I not think about the nasty comment I made on twitter earlier?

When I first tweeted the comment, I had just read the lyrics and thought they were both vulgar and misogynistic.  I immediately reached for my phone and wrote the tweet.  Click.

I thought about that “click” later and wondered whether twitter was to blame for my snide comment.  Twitter only allows 140 characters.  How was I supposed to back up my comment when there was hardly any space?  I couldn’t include the lyrics that I thought were most poignant to my thoughts on the matter or any further explanation to support my argument.

But my initial thoughts were wrong:

I was to blame, not twitter.

There is a paraphrased quote that comes to mind when thinking about how to live and speak (and post on social media):

At the end of the day, at the end of the week, at the end of my life, I want to contribute more than I criticize.

I’m not saying not to question and critique things, because that’s healthy and necessary for growth.  But I am saying that it’s important to consider what kind of energy you are bringing to the micro-moments in your life. Everything counts.  Our lives are made up of those small moments, like when you choose to smile at someone that you’re walking past, when you choose to hold the door for someone, or when you post a quick thought on social media.  In the future, I need to consider how much I am contributing before I criticize.

