Heidi:

I’m working on it.

In the comments of my last blog, Karen noted the difference between actions preceded by stress and actions preceded by excitement.  Stress is debilitating.

When I’m stressed I forget what I like to do.  Example: dancing.  My friends wanted to go out to the bar to dance last Friday.  In the middle of the day, I honestly regretted making the plans.  When it was time to pick everyone up, I was still feeling wary.  But guess what? As soon as I picked the first of my friends up, she had me laughing so hard my stomach hurt.  By the time everyone was in my car I was smiling and couldn’t believe I had almost canceled.

We got to the bar started dancing even though no one else was.  Some weird looks were thrown our way, but hey, I’m not going to wait for other people to start having fun before I give myself permission to do the same.

While we were dancing, about four guys in a group came up to us to dance.  None of them wanted to do the grinding, butt to crotch dance.  Instead, we all danced in a circle/clump.  We clapped our hands and kicked our feet into the center of the circle.  This went on for two and a half hours.  The best part about the night: I lost track of time.*

I didn’t have a single stick-out thought while dancing.  No piercing anxieties were in my head.  It was akin to a runner’s high.  It was a dancer’s high– or maybe a being-connected-to-people-high.  (Keep in mind I was sober. i.e. no help from alcohol).

Lesson learned: human connection is great.  Butt to crotch dancing is not. Hah! Just kidding, if that floats your boat.  In all seriousness, sometimes you have to remember what makes you happy and do it–even if you don’t feel like it.

This has been my cover photo on facebook and twitter for so long and it has never seemed more appropriate than at this moment.

This has been my cover photo on facebook and twitter for so long and it has never seemed more appropriate than at this moment.

*[This is a video of a choir that exemplifies a beautiful, shared humanity like my dancing experience. Especially at the end where they all hold hands and sing.  For some reason, I feel like it’s a very human thing to do.  It made me tear up.  Check out their version of Coldplay’s ‘Fix You’: Kokopelli with Òran]

