There’s a quote from Hugh Laurie that’s on my desktop background.

It says:

“It’s a terrible thing, I think, in life to wait until you’re ready. I have this feeling now that actually no one is ever ready to do anything. There is almost no such thing as ready. There is only now. And you may as well do it now. Generally speaking, now is as good a time as any.”

I was thinking about this quote and writing it into my blog and I thought ‘wow, I wish could tell them this really cool story about how I started something when I wasn’t ready and it turned out great’.  And then I realized that I have.  I didn’t feel ready to go to college four years ago, I didn’t feel ready to join activities to make friends or to take my capstone classes.  All of these things have changed my life dramatically for the better, but if I had a choice to do them or not do them beforehand I may not have opted in.  There is a fear there in your belly before you do these things that sometimes manifests itself in fear that you are “not ready”.  Learning to ignore this feeling is quite difficult, but in light of the Hugh Laurie quote, quite helpful.

I certainly didn’t feel ready to graduate last week and move home.  After being away for four years I’ve grown and changed and been treated as such by my friends, professors, bosses, etc.  In my house, there are a lot of challenges for me personally, yet when they come up, I deal with them and feel very proud of myself, almost like I leveled up in life.  This has proved true with all of the experiences I named in the previous paragraph.  That’s what my life is all about right now– learning from experiences, acquiring new skills, and leading an epic life.  Here’s to a future of new post-grad challenges with both successes and failures that will help me grow.

Check out these blog posts/vlogs that inspired this one:

1.  As you go out into the real world by Karen Huller

2.  Gaming can make the world a better place by Jane McGonigal

3. We are all scared by Hank Green

 

