Traveling forces you to do this, but you can just as easily make the choice at home!

Traveling forces you to do this, but you can just as easily make the choice at home.

Heidi: 

In a special, abbreviated version of Unveil Your Brilliance blog, I come to you from Amsterdam, Netherlands.  I’m currently in a hostel in a room with twelve other travelers whom I cannot understand.  It’s like the tower of babel in here.

My home has been Cork, Ireland for the past four weeks.  I met new people, studied poetry, worked on a literary magazine, read my work on a stage, and navigated four new cities.

I’ve grown so much in the past couple of weeks.  I did so many things that made me nervous and terrified but I did them anyway.  All they did was propel me forward and make me gain confidence in my abilities.  What I’ve realized from all of this is that you don’t need to buy a ticket overseas to do that.  Traveling forces you outside of your comfort zone, but so does walking to a place near your home that you’ve never been, or starting up a conversation with someone at the grocery store.   I plan to try to take at least one step a day outside of my comfort zone when I’m back home.   Baby steps.  Before long, I might find myself much farther down a path than I would have ever imagined.

