So far, this has been a busy week for me at work (I know, I know–it’s only Tuesday. Don’t remind me!). It seems like the summer is one of the busiest times in our office, along with my favorite time of year: Thanksgiving and Christmas. Just when I want to wind down for a few weeks, work revs up. I don’t mind (except on the days when I feel pushed to the limit) because I enjoy leaving work at the end of a busy day where I grabbed maybe 15 minutes to eat lunch and barely made my train because I stayed a few extra minutes to just finish this one thing. I feel accomplished. But there are those days where I feel run down and discouraged because I made a mistake or I have to deal with a difficult author. Everyone has those hard days, I know, and if I’ve learned one thing in my life it’s that it helps to talk about those feelings. I’m serious when I say that: don’t keep things bottled up inside. I think that just helps to breed resentment inside for yourself, your job, co-workers, even people you commute with on the train (or on your drive). Essentially, we’re all in this together. We’re all trying to make a living to support ourselves and/or our families, do the things that make us happy, and enjoy ourselves along the way.

There are countless websites and blogs you can visit on the internet to find motivational quotes and how-to lists to combat that down feeling, but it all starts with you. If your heart isn’t in it, you won’t take the necessary steps to pull yourself out of a slump. Personally, I think the best thing you can do to start feeling better quickly is to just do something. Action is almost always better than inaction. Most of your work-related problems can probably be fixed by taking care of whatever it is that’s overwhelming you or stressing you out. One of the hardest lessons I had to learn when I first started working, even in other jobs before I started this one, is that life goes on. Time is not going to stop because you made a mistake or are having a bad day, and I mean that in a good way! You will always be able to fix something or at least try to find a solution to your problem. That’s the beautiful thing about life–it always goes on.

So cheer up–you’re not alone! 🙂

dog-smile-2
Be like this little guy and smile!

