calendar

In the minutes after I got off the phone with my sister last Thursday, something she said was ringing around in my head.  It was, “We feel better when we are working towards something.”

I thought it was simple but profound.  And, boy, did I need to hear it.

After I got done all of my summer’s activities, I was left with no structure.  No classes, no dining hall lunch dates, no homework.  This is a dangerous situation for me.  I like to be busy but have had a hard time motivating myself to do things when I moved back home.

I think the best way to apply what my sister told me about working towards something is to implement structure in order to do so.

Here are some of the steps that worked for me:

  • Asked for more hours at a part time job
  • Wrote a list of some things I want accomplished (daily and weekly for now)
  • Wrote a list of some fun activities that make me happy
  • Sprinkled some of my fun activities in my planner among the things I want accomplished
  • Decorated my week in my planner 🙂

I especially noticed in the past week that when I accomplish things during the day, I have more fun when I do my fun activities.

What are the things that work for you?  How do you work towards something in your life?

