hugs!

This Saturday was Homecoming at my alma mater, Ursinus College.  It was a great time, but I wanted to share something so I remember to do it differently next year.

I saw a lot of people on Saturday.  The place was packed!  And I said hi to most people, but I found myself doing this thing where I would have a quick conversation and then say, “Well, I’m sure I’ll run into you later!” and go on my merry way.  It’s like I was assuming I was still in college and would run into them at the dining hall or class.  Part of it was a way to end the conversation, but most of me actually believed I would run into them again.  Spoiler alert: I didn’t.

Advice to myself for next year: don’t do that.  Just stop and talk to people like it’s the only time you’ll see them this year.

This doesn’t apply just to homecoming.  I think this applies to every day of the year.  This year made me realize how important my friends are to me and I want to treat them as such.  I want to be able to stop and appreciate them while giving them my full attention.  There is power (and true friendship) in that.

