Yesterday was “one of those days,” and it certainly didn’t help that it happened to be a Monday, too. Everything just seemed to go wrong and I kept blaming it on myself. I know many of us have had “one of those days,” but I realized yesterday that we don’t have to give that day power. The way I talk to myself and think about myself probably affects the trajectory of my day more than I admit to myself. Like many people, I’m my own worst critic, but I know that telling myself that “I can never do anything right” or “I can’t do this” is not constructive. So, how can I lift myself out of a negative frame of mind?

I know I’ve written before about being kind to yourself and to others, but I think it’s one of the hardest things to do to force yourself to think positive thoughts. I also think it’s something that I need to practice before I will do it every day. I’m much harder on myself than I truly deserve, and I’m sure many of you feel the same way. Sometimes I think just simply saying nice things to myself reinforces my confidence, instead of putting myself down when things go wrong.

If you’re having “one of those days” today, don’t crawl under the covers, put yourself down, or blame every problem in the world on yourself. RESIST THE URGE! I know it’s hard, believe me, but in the end you are doing yourself a disservice. You are a capable, smart, kind person and you can make it through anything. I try to tell myself: “Would you be where you are right now in life if you couldn’t do it?” And the answer is, “Of course not!” Cut yourself some slack, but also be honest with yourself. You are not a terrible person, you are just having a bad day. Every single person has bad days–don’t drown in the negativity!

Do you have an example of how you brought yourself out of “one of those days”? I’d love to hear it!

positive-thinking
Source.

