Sunflowers always remind me of happiness.

Sunflowers always remind me of happiness.

Marykate’s post last Monday really hit me in the face. In a good way.

Over the past few months I’ve had a lot of “those days”.  Things go wrong, I blame myself and I talk to myself in a mean way. This kills my creativity and productivity.  And without creativity and productivity I am pretty lost for my day’s work!

Marykate asked at the end of her post what kinds of things you do to get yourself out of one of “those days”.  I decided to make a short list:

1. Sing. Yes, even if you’re bad. It makes me feel so much better. I can’t explain it, but somehow if I am having a particularly bad day, singing to myself really helps.  Chalk it up to science or the amazing mystical power music has, but it’s a great way to change your bad day into a better one, if only at least to lead you to another realization to help you. (pro tip: listening to music works too, but sometimes that’s not available).

2. Change location. It’s that simple. Just get up and move from the spot you were harboring all of that negative energy.  The change in space will make it easier to start fresh and adopt a new mindset.

3. Phone a friend.  Talking to an old friend, even if it’s long after work hours, can help you re-frame your situation.  So many times we are trapped inside our own bubbles and have a hard time imagining a way out of our situation if it is undesirable. Talking to a friend can give us laughter and the joy of old memories, but it can also take us out of our own situation while we listen to what the friend is going through and reflect on that.

These things are things I do and they might not work for you, but I think it’s awfully helpful to have a list of things to try when you’re feeling down.

Thanks, Marykate for giving us all the reminder that happiness is a choice.  Let’s all choose it a little more.

