Heidi’s great post about networking last week really made me think about whether I’m being proactive in connecting with people professionally (spoiler alert: I could do better). These thoughts culminated last Friday at my office had their annual Christmas party and I found myself talking to a few people that I hadn’t spent much time with before. I’m so glad I did!

I work in a large office, but my group is fairly small. Each one of us may not know everyone in the department enough to say hi and chat on a daily basis, but at the bare minimum we know who we all are by name and face. It felt great to sit at a table for dinner with several co-workers and get to know them in a more relaxed setting. It reminded me of this informative article from Forbes, which discusses the best way to network at a holiday office party. I think one of the best parts about talking to co-workers at an office party is that it is already a less stressful situation. I tend to overthink social situations because I’m naturally a shy person, but if I’m comfortably surrounded by familiar faces in a fun atmosphere, I’m much more likely to strike up a conversation with someone and be confident about it.

I know it’s a little early for New Year’s resolutions, but I think I’d like to try to be more aggressive about networking. I want to get my name out there and let people know that I’m here, I’m smart, I’m capable, so let’s chat!

What about you? What are some recent networking events you’ve attended?

conversation
Source.

