Written by third grade me.

Written by third grade me.

My mom found a folder of my third grade art and homework projects. I looked through it all last night.  Among the glued construction paper and the funny writing prompts, I found a worksheet called “I’m nuts about me!”.  It’s a sheet filled with acorn-looking outlines and directions to write in each one coordinating with it’s description.  For example, one nut says, “Your full name” and another says, “My favorite foods”.  Most of the nuts were unremarkable.

The nut that caught my eye; however, was the one that said, “The best things about me.”  What I wrote surprised me.  It said: “That I am proud of myself.”  I was surprised for a couple of reasons.  One, because I chose to write about something intangible, rather than something like, “my hair is pretty” or “my teeth are really straight.”  It gives me some more insight on how I became so introspective as I grew up.  But it also surprised me because I don’t think I would write something like that if I was asked the same question today.  I would still write something intangible, but it would probably be some singular part of myself that I approve of, for example, my creativity.  I think I could benefit from believing that I am proud of my whole self again.  I think a lot of us could.

Thinking about what the best things about you are is not just a third grade activity.  It’s a lifelong activity– I would argue that it’s a darn healthy one at that.  What are the best things about you?

