I’ve been struggling a bit lately with certain aspects of my life. What do I want to do? Where do I want to be in one year? Five tears? Ten? One of the things I’m really trying to figure out is what will make me happy, and I don’t necessarily mean as a career. I want to be happy with the work that I do, of course, but I also understand that that might not fulfill my needs in the long-term.

This past winter, I haven’t been doing that much outside of work–I come home, make dinner, read or go online. Sometimes I write. I wish I wrote more. I wish I had other things to do (I used to volunteer at my local library when I lived with my parents, and that made me feel like I was doing something good). I guess I don’t know where to start. Part of the problem is definitely the weather–who wants to go outside when the windchill is zero? I want to sit at home in my jammies and soft socks, and hibernate until some flowers pop their heads out of the dirt.

Oddly enough, just writing about all of this is making me feel more optimistic. I tend to compare myself to others and find myself thinking “She does so much outside of her job,” and “He seems so happy.” I know this is unrealistic–you can never know someone else just by looking at them–but that doesn’t make it easier to not compare myself to other seemingly more successful and happy people.

I want to write down some goals in the coming weeks and work toward achieving them. Maybe I’ll start small, like looking for volunteer opportunities in my area to see if that’s something I could commit myself to. And writing more, to discover what I want to say and how I want to say it, and how to reach larger audiences. I want to see where that takes me.

I hope everyone else is having a positive week and thinking spring! 🙂

Bridge
This is a picture I took last summer of the Ben Franklin Bridge when I arrived at the Susquehanna Bank Center for a concert. Pretty cool effects, huh?

