I start a new job today and I’m feeling good. I am definitely nervous, but a friend texted me today saying not to be nervous because they wouldn’t have hired you if they didn’t think you could do it. To ease the rest of my nerves I have been preparing myself. I thought I’d share some of my preparations now:

1. Dry run to work. I just moved in to my new apartment yesterday and I was a little nervous about getting to and from work in a new city. I google mapped a walking path to work and back and then screenshoted it on my phone so I have it. I did the walk today and timed it so I am familiar with the sights and the timing so I know when to leave in the mornings.

2. Read up on the company. I know I’ve already been hired but it really helps to ease my nerves to even just read over the website again. It gives me peace of mind that I know what’s going on.

3. Set out clothes. I feel like this is an age old piece of advice for first day of work or school and I don’t know why but it REALLY helps to know exactly what you are going to wear and have it set out. Maybe it’s just one more thing you don’t have to worry about or maybe it’s an aid in visualization for the next day, but whatever it is, it works.

Anyway, I hope this helps in preparing for any new thing in your life. It really helps to have specific tasks in mind that you know will help ease your nerves.

