Yesterday was a long day. We’ve all had them–those days that drag on and feel like two or three days squashed together. Not only was I feeling unmotivated, but also exhausted. How does someone get out of this rut? I just wanted to hop on the train home, put my pajamas on, and sit in front of the TV. I’m not even a big TV watcher, but for awhile I didn’t want to think! How did I overcome this insane urge, you ask?

Later in the morning, I got up and took a walk down to the bagel shop in my building for a cup of coffee. It wasn’t a very long walk, but it got me out of my seat and focused on something else other than my computer screen. I could feel my eyes starting to cross and I knew it was time to look away for a bit.

Later on, I took a brief walk around the block. I can’t stress this enough: If at all possible, look away from your computer monitor and stretch your legs a couple times over the course of your day! Staring at one area for eight hours a day will drive anyone to distraction (not to mention that you have to focus your eyes so they don’t go all blurry). During my lunch hour, I read. I’m reading a novel that I’m really enjoying, and it gave me a much-needed rest and a jolt to keep on working. Do what will calm you and keep you focused.

We all have those days when we feel like they’ll never end and we’ll never get anything accomplished, but they do pass. I tend to experience  on a Monday, when I’m sad the weekend is over and I have to get back into work-mode. You’ll get through it!

How do you stay motivated and focused throughout a tough day?

frantic
Source.

