I hope everyone had a happy and safe Fourth of July weekend! Mine was perfect but too short (isn’t that always the way?).

Recently, I realized that I’ve been changing a part of my personality that I thought was ingrained into the deepest recesses of my soul: I’m slowly but surely becoming less and less of a procrastinator. Just writing this post will surely jinx this, but I may as well write all about it before that happens, am I right?

Ever since I was a kid, I remember putting things off until the last possible minute (there are, as always, exceptions to this–it’s pretty hard to write a 20-something page term paper at the last minute, for example): cleaning my room, doing my homework, going to sleep at a reasonable hour (!). Ever since I moved into my apartment last year, though, I find myself doing more and more when I have some down time instead of just vegging out. The other day, for example, I took my clean clothes out of the dryer, folded them, and put them away. I am the queen of folding my clean laundry next to my bed and leaving the pile there until it becomes so overwhelming it just falls over. This past Thursday, I had an hour until I was going to leave work and I actually used that hour to get through a set of revisions for an issue instead of checking my email or talking to people in my group about my plans for the Fourth. Amazing, right? (Probably not to the normal, responsible human being who is reading this thinking, “Who is this person?!”)

This post makes it sound like I’m a hot mess that struggles through a typical day trying to complete tasks that should be simple, but it’s not quite that dramatic. I’m just so used to putting tasks off until not necessarily the last minute, but later, that this is a huge revelation to me! I wonder what is going on with my brain chemistry? Could it be that I’m slowly morphing into my own version of an honest-to-goodness, for-real adult? That’s what I attribute my desire to eat vegetables instead of junk for dinner to :). I suppose it makes sense–I’m not a kid anymore and it really is easier to maneuver around my bedroom when my clean clothes are put away, or to function on a Monday morning when that set of revises that I could have easily completed last week is actually finished!

And you know what? I think I’m sort of okay with dropping some of my younger-self personality quirks! Here’s to a more mature me :).

quote___accept_responsibility
Source.

