Moving day is almost here! To be exact, I’ll be moving out this Saturday. The date I decided on seemed very far off at the time. Now that my big move is only a few days away, it feels like I don’t have enough time in the day for all the tasks that need to be completed. To be honest, I’m kicking myself for not taking a vacation or at least a few days off from my night job. One major upside is that I’m moving out my parent’s home, so odd and ends can be tied up later. If I had a redo button on planning my move here’s what I would do differently:

1. Don’t try to be Superwoman: Take the time off as needed. For the most part, friends and family can only help you so much. There are occasions where you need to set aside a few moments or days to really take care of business. If you have to juggle work and family obligations this quickly becomes an exercise in frustration.

2. Plan when you can: When moving into a house that needs repair work try to have a timeline established. Decide how much work needs to be done before you can move in, or if you want to move first and make repairs later. If you opt for repairs before you move, give your contractors a deadline and decide on a payment schedule. Trust me, you don’t want your contractor or handyman to stop showing up for work and to ignore your phone calls. (This happened to me with a contractor I thought was reliable.) Repairing after moving allows you to move sooner, but you may spend a chunk of your free time fixing up the house. Personally, I think it boils down to preference- if you have the luxury of a choice.

Here’s something else to take into consideration: the longer it takes you to move from one house to another, the more bills you have to juggle. In my case, I’ve already paid the utilities and the mortgage for one month—this is on top of paying rent to my parents. (The saving grace is that my tenant’s rent helps out greatly with the mortgage.) Sometimes slow and steady doesn’t win the race.

3. Keep your eye on the goal: Even on the most stressful days I keep my goal in mind. Despite the stress, my move will soon be over and I’ll be out on my own. Once I’m finished moving I can return to a normal routine. When I think of the end plan my excitement usually counteracts my stress.

I’ll have an update once I’ve completed my move. Hopefully, it’ll be a positive follow-up with all of things I did correctly.

Packing up part of my collection of video games.

Packing up *part* of my collection of video games. I’ve collected a lot of stuff over the years… *Sigh*

