I’ve been feeling a little overwhelmed lately with moving and getting used to my new job. I’ve talked about this feeling in previous posts and I try to stay organized and make time for myself, but sometimes something else is missing. I sat down to think about this the other day and I realized that I haven’t been creative in a long time. I may make time for myself to unwind, but I don’t make time to create anymore. I used to write all the time and I was never without my notebook or journal, but in the past few years I’ve stopped writing (just for myself) almost completely.

Why is that? Why would I let what used to be one of the most important aspects of my life just fade away? Honestly, I think part of it is laziness. At the end of the day, I would come home and do something mindless instead of sit down to write. I’ve decided that this state of being isn’t acceptable anymore–why have I allowed this to continue? I’m stopping it right now. I found a small, blank notebook that can fit in my work bag and I’ve decided to write in it at last a few times a week. I don’t want to make this a chore, but I also want to be hard on myself if I know I’m letting myself slip. It’s a difficult balance to achieve, but I just want to get back to when I would write and not think about it–it was just second nature. I think my creativity is what makes me who I am and right now, I’m not letting it come out.

If I write and draw during the “me” time I set aside for myself each week, I think I will feel much better emotionally. This blog is one of my only creative outlets at this point (and I am very thankful for that!), but I definitely need more! I was doing some research online the other day, and I thought about giving myself some writing “prompts” to get me started. It has been a long time since I’ve written creatively, or even journaled, so I feel a bit rusty; maybe a short writing prompt to get me started wouldn’t be such a bad idea.

I had to have a “talk” with myself about writing–I love it, right? It helps me hash out ideas, doesn’t it? I can share it or not share it, depending, correct? So what’s the big deal? When I couldn’t come up with anymore excuses, that’s when I decided to start writing again–for me :).

What about you? Have you fallen away from your own creativity recently (whether that’s writing, painting, singing, or anything else)?

be-creative
Source.

