My move-in was successful :). It’s SO nice to finally be able to say that after all the months of stressing and worrying about the whole process. I’ve officially been in my apartment for almost 10 days now and I have a confession to make: I’m not really completely unpacked yet. I know, I know–crazy, right? The truth is, I’ve been doing little things here and there such as taking a few hours to organize the kitchen, put away my winter clothes, and decide how I want to decorate my place. Oh, and I put my books away in my tiny bookshelf–so that’s something! Honestly, I think I’m taking Angela’s advice from two weeks ago to heart and I’m not stressing out about getting everything put in its place right away. I’m really enjoying this part of my life–I’m working hard at my job and I’m getting to know my new place, as well as getting to know myself in a place that’s all mine.

In order to make sure that I do eventually unpack, I’ve tried to make some loose lists to organize myself, such as what will go in my bedroom, living room, bathroom, etc. I have a one bedroom apartment but it came with an “extra room” that is too small to be a bedroom, but is still pretty awesome for an office or a “library” ;). How do I want to fix it up? Do I need to make that decision right away? Absolutely not! It’s fun thinking of all the possibilities.

I’m going to spend my day at work productively (I can feel it!) then I’m going to go home and maybe do a bit more unpacking. If I get frustrated, bored, tired, or feel anything but excited to be doing what I’m doing, I’ll stop. I’m allowing myself to take some time and do things slowly. It’s really paying off–I’ve been reading, writing, and talking to friends and family a lot more these past 10 days. I don’t feel weighed down and stressed about anything; who wouldn’t want to keep things the way they are?

Do you have any moving/unpacking stories? How did you keep a handle on the stress of it all?

relaxing polar bear
Source.

