Recently, I realized that I’m not taking the best care of myself. I should be exercising more and eating better than I am (especially around the holidays; it feels like I can’t help myself!). Also,though I’ve been hesitant to actually use the word “meditation,” I’m coming to realize that engaging in it more often will be beneficial for my overall well-being. Sure, I enjoy my “me-time,” but meditation is something different. It’s a way for a person to listen to their body and its needs; I think I need that right now.

I’ve always been in good health and I feel very fortunate and grateful for this. But I also have always pushed myself because of this: if I’m sick, I just pop a few pills and keep on going instead of resting; if I’m tired, I keep working until I get the job done (and sometimes I just don’t feel like physically resting, so I don’t!); if I’m hungry for good foods, I sometimes grab the easiest or most convenient meal at the time. This isn’t good for me in the long run and it’s got to stop.

It’s a bit early, but I’m going to make a sort of resolution for myself: I’m going to take care of myself and be more disciplined when it comes to things like exercise, food, and, especially, sleep. I need to grow and mature enough to realize that this is the only body I’m ever going to have, and I’m certainly not growing younger! Just because something looks delicious doesn’t mean I have to gorge myself; just because a really good TV show is on doesn’t mean I have to stay up for hours watching it; just because it’s a little chilly outside in the evening doesn’t mean I shouldn’t get out there and walk.

It’s time for me to stop making excuses and start getting serious about myself and my health. I want to feel well and I want to know that I’m making a real effort to get myself to that place. I’ll be sure to give updates along the way (not in pounds lost, but in the way I feel each time I write here) so everyone can see that it’s time to start paying attention to your needs (if you haven’t already!).

you
Source.

