The holiday season has been in full swing. It is the time of year where my work hours are long and my free time is limited. (Fun fact: I haven’t even STARTED my Christmas shopping.) The only thing that has been keeping me is sane is sleep. Glorious sleep! I have been reading a lot about the importance of sleep, and how waking up earlier can provide you with more time in the day. I set a sleep schedule that I considered to be manageable. I have been on the schedule for two weeks now and the results have been great. I’m usually in bed by 11:30 (I don’t get home from work until 10:30) and up around 6:30. I have been able to get my work done early and I have managed to carve out some extra time in the day to complete tasks when I’m not at work. I used to think a simple five hours of sleep was good enough for me, but I was wrong.

According to a 2013 Gallup poll, 40 percent of Americans don’t get the recommended amount of sleep, which is about seven hours.  If people could do without sleep, they would. In fact, those who can sleep less than the recommended amount without any notable side-effects are often viewed with envy. Honestly, if I had the ability to sleep fewer hours per day, I’m not sure I would be entirely satisfied. Since I reworked my sleep schedule, I’ve begun to enjoy the regular bedtime hours and just getting more sleep in general. Sure, my working days are long, but I love being alert and free of sleep deprivation. It only took longer hours at work to come to this realization. After the holidays are over, I’ll most likely keep the sleep schedule because it has been so beneficial.

Has the holiday season altered your work or sleep schedule?

always sleeping - by Ingo Di Bella of Flickr

Always Sleeping by Ingo Di Bella of Flickr

