I hope all you readers out there had a nice weekend! And I hope for some of you that it was a long one (it was for me!). I came back to work today feeling plenty anxious, but also well-rested and ready to tackle the day and the tasks that had built up over the weekend. This did not occur without some preparation and work, though!

On Sunday nights (or, in this case, Monday night :)) I tend to get a bit down and stressed out about the coming week (it’s hard to let go of a good weekend!). I try to prepare myself for jumping into a new work week, but sometimes that doesn’t work and I’m stuck in a bit of a ditch on Sundays. Yesterday, though, I actively tried to avoid those pitfalls by doing the following:

1. I absolutely refused to think about work (and obsess over my to-do list and worry about whether that deadline will be met and….).
2. I tried to take care of myself by eating a good dinner and going to bed at a reasonable time.
3. When I woke up this morning, I refused to think about work again while I got ready to leave.
4. I found myself becoming stressed when I opened my emails this morning and I had to stop myself, mentally, and make myself relax before moving on.
5. I began working right away instead of putting off tasks (even more difficult ones) for later.

This doesn’t sound like much, but I can’t tell you how much it helped. Sure, I still have a few unfinished tasks and emails that need to be answered that are hanging out there in limbo, but I’m feeling much better about handling them. One other important aspect of my morning that I did not include on my list but is just as important as the others: I relied on my manager when I needed help. I had questions that popped up first thing this morning that I knew I couldn’t answer on my own and I made sure I contacted him in order to get those issues resolved.

Work is never finished and I’m never going to feel completely accomplished no matter how much I do, but I already feel much better than I would have if I hadn’t followed those steps I mentioned before. I refused to allow work to take over my home life (even though I tend to over-think and over-analyze everything) and that set me up for a more restful night’s sleep. That, of course, allowed me to come to work ready to go this morning and to tackle difficult jobs and questions with a bit more poise.

Smile, dear readers–even though it’s the beginning of another work week, you have so much to be thankful for :).

sleepingSource.

