How many of you feel the need to “look forward” to something, no matter how small, so that you can make it through the difficult winter days (or just a stressful week)? I know I do! I’m planning a trip down the shore this weekend with some family and I am very much looking forward to it. I have a day off on February 15th. My favorite band is playing a concert here in the summer and tickets go on sale at the end of the month. These seemingly small events are the things that get me through some of my days when it’s cloudy and cold outside. Trudging up the hill to my apartment after work with my breath coming out in clouds, sometimes I just need to remind myself that there are always “little things” to smile about in life.

I love my work, especially now with this new job, and I am grateful for all the good things that my work brings. Of course, every once in awhile, I just need a change. Last week, I had a semi-stressful situation at work and almost every evening I did something for myself. I remember on Tuesday that I wanted to do some cleaning; I was tired and still revved up from the day, so I just didn’t. I lit a candle and watched Netflix instead. Thursday at work was tough, but I told myself I would go home and make my favorite meal for dinner. That made me calm down and focus on the tasks at hand.

It’s exhausting to work day in and day out with no change to my routine (though I do love my routine!). Having something coming up on my calendar is just the thing to get me energized and motivated for the week or month ahead. We all need pick-me-ups sometimes, right?

positive

Source.

