Do you ever just feel…uninspired? At work, that is. Even though you have plenty to do, you still feel as though you are floating along on a bit of a gray cloud? Well, that’s me this week–and it’s only Tuesday! I’m not depressed or upset or anything, I just feel a bit…blank. Burned out is maybe the better phrase to use.

I think this feeling started last week when it was so beautiful outside and it took all of my strength to not just walk out of my office into the sunshine every day. Then, this past weekend, I was able to spend some time with family outside and that was relaxing. But I came into work yesterday and I feel as though I did the bare minimum; that trend also seems to be extending into today. I think I wish I was on vacation and the nice weather from last week really worked that into my brain. The weather yesterday and today wasn’t even nice! It rained yesterday and today is looking cloudy so far.

I’m working through it, though. I’ve set aside low-stress tasks to work on today that must get done but that I’ve been putting off recently in favor of more pressing jobs; so, I’m still completing work but it’s work doesn’t suck a lot of mental energy from me. So far, this strategy seems to be a good one: I’m concentrating on one thing at a time, getting it done, and checking it off the list. I am not the type of person to coast through work, so I appreciate that I have many smaller tasks that I can get done while I’m in this “funk.” It’s also supposed to be nicer this afternoon and I’m going to take a walk outside after work. I’ve been exercising a lot more recently and I can feel that it helps me physically, mentally, and emotionally, so hopefully I can drag myself out of this gray cloud!

Have you ever had this feeling of “blah” that takes over your mind for a day or two? What helps you kick it?

Dog Blah Timeline Cover
Source.

