I hope everyone had a fantastic Memorial Day! While many people spend the day with family and friends, I spent a good chunk of the holiday evening editing articles for my blog. It was a task I originally meant to do in late March/ early April, but it fell by the wayside. Between getting my upstairs unit ready for a new tenant and other pressing matters, I never got around to posting the articles. As time dragged on, I felt the content ran the danger of becoming too untimely. I mulled on the possibility of completely scrapping the content. However, a little voice inside my head would not allow me to give up on all of my hard work. I had written over 5000 words spread out between four articles, and the words from those articles had been converted from my hastily written hand notes. Additionally, I had taken dozens of pictures from the convention I attended in March. As May came to a close, I realized the task of posting my work seemed bigger than it actually was.

I think everyone gets to a point where they see a task and it seems overwhelming and insurmountable. One solution is to break the task up into smaller chunks, making it more manageable. My solution was to well, get off my butt. I realized the problem was in my head and as long as I felt negatively about the task, breaking it down into smaller steps would not help. The only way to take on the task was to just start working. If the task seemed untimely, I would schedule my articles after the main news of the day was posted. Everything that was outdated would be updated in the articles to reflect that some time had passed.

You know what? I’m glad I pushed past my negative feelings and fear of negative feedback from my audience. Not only did the articles still have timely information, but one post generated a good discussion because a reader saw the content as an opportunity to express some of his opinions. Not only that, it was the first time I visited a convention outside of the Philadelphia/ DC/ Baltimore area and it felt nice to write about what I experienced in Boston. All of my fears were in my head and had little to do with reality. Sometimes you have to give yourself that positive push.

 

Have you ever delayed a task because it seemed bigger than it really was?

100_4468.JPG

A parting view of Boston

