Well, this week has been insane. I’m finally getting another assignment at work and I have been in and out of meetings. Also, my freelance job is picking up a bit and I have been so distracted that I actually forgot to post here earlier in the week! I apologize to all the readers of this lovely blog for my neglect!

One of the aspects of starting something new at my job is introducing myself to and working with a different editorial office. I have to learn and adapt to the way they do things, and that can be difficult after working on the same publication for almost a year. It requires getting to know the new journal and the different people within my company who make things work. It requires patience from everyone. It requires resilience, as well.

It’s almost too easy to get down on myself when I’m feeling discouraged, overworked, and tired. It’s a challenge to pick myself up, dust myself off, and continue going when I feel like just giving up. Sometimes, all I want to do is come home after work and go to bed right away. Sometimes I don’t want to face my other responsibilities and obligations. Then, I talk to my co-workers, friends, and family and realize that I’m not alone. Everybody has these feelings. Everybody feels inadequate and run-down from time to time. The only thing that matters is that I don’t give in to those feelings and give up. I want to keep going and succeed.

Luckily, I’m going to the shore for the weekend with my family to unwind. I think it’s a much needed vacation, am I right?

IMG_5874
Source.

