Last week the news cycle was a depressing whirlwind of violence, political rhetoric and general unpleasantness. As a black person in America, the news from last week was upsetting. I probably made it worse, by following social media and reading comments sections. (No one has ever really felt better by reading the comments section of a news article.) I’m not really sure what compelled me to keep browsing. As I thought about it, perhaps I was searching for a way to sooth my soul. I came across one tweet that said prayer works best, so I prayed and felt slightly better. As I headed into the weekend I also received the advice it is best to focus on one day at a time. This simple lesson can be so easy to overlook at times.

For the weekend, I decided not to focus on news and national hurt, but relaxing and recharging for another week. Some may call it a distraction, but if upsetting news takes up much of your mental capacity, would it not be best to take a break from those thoughts? As the week ended and my thoughts settled, I couldn’t help but think:

  • Life continues.
  • Be kind to others.
  • Take life one day at a time.
  • Spend time with family and friends when you can and make sure they know you appreciate and love them.
  • There is nothing wrong with small talk.
  • Sometimes in life it can be the small gestures that really count.
  • If you have a big idea, goal, or dream, don’t be afraid to pursue those dreams.

 

