In connection with my last post two weeks ago, I wanted to give you lovely readers an update: I’ve tried meditation and I am happy to say that I am really enjoying it! Also, I believe that I’m feeling a difference in my stress levels. I’m working on this slowly and I allow myself to skip a day if it just isn’t happening (such as yesterday! Maybe it’s because it was Monday, but I just couldn’t muster up the concentration to meditate that morning or last evening before bed). I’ve also begun reading up on the philosophy behind meditation and various perspectives on the practice; this has helped a lot as well because I’m beginning to formulate my own ideas and opinions about what I’m doing.

One aspect of meditation that I want to focus on in this post is the ability that I have (or, well, that I’m developing) to let go of the stress, hang ups, and thoughts from the day. This is the most difficult part for me and it is something I struggle with every day. Sometimes my sleep is interrupted or it doesn’t come at all because the thoughts in my head are crashing around and keeping me awake; I know this isn’t news to many of you. This is a common problem among most people, not just those who suffer from anxiety. By developing the skill of letting go of my daily concerns, I am giving myself an important gift: the gift of inner peace. I go to bed now most nights with a growing sense of calm that I haven’t experienced for years.

I can’t stress the importance of meditation enough (or any other practice/ritual that will give you a sense of peace, such as taking a warm bath, reading, or listening to music). For me, it has been a truly eye-opening experience. I feel more well-rested and ready for work in the morning during the week, and prepared to engage in various activities on the weekends. I’m so happy I started practicing meditation and I hope to continue it for a long time to come!

What do you do, dear readers, to bring yourself a sense of inner peace?

8053385969_21f3196b9b_z
Source.

