I’ve had to put out a couple fires at work this week and last. I felt the old familiar stress creeping up on me–tightening my neck muscles, giving me a headache, and making me feel panicky. I used my newfound breathing/meditation techniques to get through it and they have helped greatly!

Another thing that I’ve found that has helped me in dealing with stressful situations at work is acknowledging my own input, whether it is good or not so good, in a situation. This means that I’ve been owning my decisions to myself and to others. There is power in acknowledging a mistake, for example, and taking the correct steps to fix it efficiently. There is also power in recognizing a decision you made that led to a positive outcome for a job or project.This attitude contributes to the vision I have of my ideal self; I want to be an honorable person who can be counted on, so it’s important that I become that person.

You know that saying “Fake it ’til you make it”? I used to scoff at that idea because I thought that “faking it” was kind of like cheating. But I was wrong–“faking it” is one way to achieve goals and become the person you want to be. I’m typically a shy person but when I decide that I need to be confident in a situation (like during an important meeting), I have to cheat a little and fake that feeling. Eventually, it doesn’t feel like faking anymore.

Have any of you faked it ’til you made it? Did it work?

16241388115_fec39f427a_z
Source.

 

