Hello, lovely readers! I will not be posting anything about the election except to say: thank goodness it’s over. It was draining to continually read about, hear, and see such negativity from all sides. Anyway, I wanted to talk today about working together at your job, school, and in your relationships. I’m an introvert and sometimes I spend so much time by myself that I think I can do anything on my own, but that’s not 100% true. I can do a lot of things on my own–things I never would have thought of before and that makes me proud of myself. There are times, though, when it is necessary for me to reach out to others for help, even if it’s difficult. It’s hard to ask for help; it can feel demeaning, but that’s not what it should feel like.

I reached out to coworkers recently to help me with various parts of my workload. I was feel overwhelmed and I needed someone else to help me through, and I’m so glad I asked. No one hesitated to give me all the help they could offer and if someone was also busy, that was okay too. We’re all human and there’s only so much we can do at a time! I also reached out to some close friends recently. I was feeling run-down emotionally and it was so comforting to just talk, laugh, and have a good time without any pressure. I didn’t even talk all that much about what was bothering me–it was enough to just be with them.

No matter what the situation is, you should feel comfortable reaching out to friends, family, or coworkers for help. It’s healthy to realize and accept that we all have limits. We are not perfect and it’s okay to not be able to handle everything life throws at us. Don’t be embarrassed–reach out!

image-257x300
Source.

