The holiday season is nearly here and for me it is one of the most stressful times of the year when it comes to working. In about two weeks I will have to face increased volumes of work, which is typical in the shipping and logistics business. In addition to that, I will also have to contend with increased travel times thanks to traffic and holiday shopping madness. If I think about the holiday season too much, I often find myself overwhelmed. Fortunately, I’ve also been thinking about ways to decrease my stress.

  1. Rest- Getting adequate amounts of sleep tends to help me recharge. Whenever I don’t rest enough, I often go through my days feeling unfocused and unproductive. It’s amazing how much better I tend to feel when I get proper amounts of sleep.
  1. Preparation- In order to combat traffic and a lack of parking at work, I tend to leave out earlier than normal. For example, if it takes me a half hour to get to my job, I usually leave out  50 minutes early. However, during the holiday season, I may leave out an hour and a half earlier. This helps me not worry about getting to work on time. As a bonus, I’m also able to find parking before the shift. (My job tends to hire a lot of extra help for the holiday season.)
  1. Enjoy the holidays- When worrying about preparing for the holidays and all of the hard work that comes with the season, it is easy to forget about the joy the holidays can bring. Taking a moment to appreciate the holidays and spending time with family and friends can help alleviate stress. After all, one of the best aspects of the holiday is spending time with friends and family.

Do you stress out about the holiday season? If so, what do you do to cope?

