This past week has been crazy! I’ve been busy at work and in my personal life and I have never felt so grateful for my family. Without them, I’m sure I’d go slowly insane.

My family does “first Christmas” with my sister, her boyfriend, and my nephews each year before Christmas itself because it’s a lot for them to visit everyone they want to visit on Christmas day with three kids and a car full of presents. This year it was a blast! We have a different food theme each year and this year we had Polish food (my father’s mother was Polish)–stuffed cabbage, pierogies, kielbasa and sauerkraut, and more. It was as deliciously outrageous as it sounds.

I was able to come home, cook, and eat with my family and allow my nerves to rest. I guess I wasn’t checking in with myself enough to realize that the stress has been building these past couple of weeks. Nothing is better for letting off some steam than playing Rock ‘Em Sock ‘Em Robots with your nephew :).

Despite all of the bad things that are happening in the world every day and the rush of the work week, I know that I can always come home. There, they don’t judge me or expect me to be someone that I’m not. They just want me as I am. That, my friends, is the best Christmas gift I could receive this year!

How have you all been coping with holiday stress?

img_20161218_194059
My parents’ monster, 14 foot tall Christmas tree!

