I’ve been feeling apprehensive and listless for the first week and a half of January. It’s not that I don’t have a full plate of things to do and goals to accomplish; I just haven’t put much effort into getting started. Like MaryKate, I’m feeling deflated. As it is often said, the first step is the most difficult, but also the most important. I realized it would probably help to put many of the things I would like to accomplish into writing. This week’s blog seems like the perfect place to get started.

  • I want to resume old hobbies I left by the wayside. This includes reading novels, writing fiction, and drawing to a small degree. One of the gifts I received for Christmas was a small art tablet and I don’t intend to let that gift go to waste. (I’ve set the tablet up and drawing digital art is a lot harder than traditional art.)
  • Getting back into social media. Twitter is the only platform I’ve regularly used. All of my other social media platforms have gone by the wayside. To be honest, disconnecting from Facebook has been great for my stress levels—especially after last year’s election. I’m not really feeling a strong tinge of FOMO (Fear of Missing Out), but if I ever want my personal brand and network to grow, I need to be more active on social media.
  • Tackling that promised backlog of personal website projects. The last time I performed a major overhaul on my site was in February 2014. While I got all of the major components overhauled, a lot was left undone on the site- including the migration of the entire site (not just my blog) to WordPress. Progress has been slow since it’s a personal, unpaid project. Nevertheless it’s something that’s been neglected for far too long.
  • Getting my landlord life in order. Life as a landlord isn’t always easy. On lots of days there’s nothing to do, and on some days a torrent of problems can hit you all at once. I want to rebuild my emergency problem fund, fix small problems around both units, and finish obtaining new certificates that the city recently instituted.
  • Bite into my video game backlog. I realized I only finished one game in 2016 and I have lots of half-finished games sitting around. There are a few games I really want to play in 2017 and I don’t want to start them until I clear out by backlog.

 

I don’t consider these New Year’s Resolutions, since I never follow those. These are mix of goals I want to complete in 2017 and beyond.

659am-by-wolfgang-staudt-of-flickr

6:59 AM by Wolfgang Staudt of Flickr

