I’m going to piggy-back off of Angela’s last post on here because yesterday I happened to be sick. I’m feeling much better now! I woke up yesterday morning and thought long and hard about whether I should go in to work or not. I had a low fever, chills, and a bad cough and I still felt mildy guilty about wanting to stay home. I compromised instead and worked from home (which I also probably shouldn’t have done because I didn’t get a lot accomplished). Why did I even entertain the thought of going in to work? I was sick and the last thing I want to do is to pass on whatever this is to my coworkers. I think it has to do with what I mentioned above: guilt.

I believe that if I spent yesterday off my laptop and more time sleeping and recovering, I would be close to 100% today. And I would be able to give all of my attention to my emails and work-related tasks, which is something I couldn’t do very well yesterday. Sure, I did some work, but I wasn’t fully up to par. I’m still a bit groggy and the cough is hanging around, but I’ve improved since yesterday and I’m taking advantage of that.

I’m a hard worker and I’m good at my job–I know these things for sure. I also know that my manager is amazing and would never insist that I come in when I’m sick. So really, I just have to get over my own self-imposed guilt trip. The moral of the story is: Don’t feel guilty! Don’t make yourself come in to work or work from home if you’re sick and you don’t think you’ll be able to concentrate! It’s not worth it and I’m sure your manager and colleagues will thank you :).

wallpapers-hd-sick-dog-download-620x417
Source.

