I had planned to get refocused in February and ramp up some areas of my life where I felt stagnant. My plans were derailed when I fell ill with a nasty cold and it seemed to take much of the month to recover. In the first week of March I decided to get out of my comfort zone and refocus.

The first thing I did was participate in Lent. Lent starts on Ash Wednesday and lasts 40 days until Easter. It is during this season that many Christians give up something in order to become closer to God or to emulate Jesus when he fasted in the desert for 40 days before starting his ministry. Most people give up things such as meat on certain days of the week, sweets for 40 days, or even social media. Personally, I decided to give up red meat and poultry. (Hopefully I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew. Ha ha.) The effort has definitely forced me to refocus and has washed away much of the routine in my life, which feels refreshing.

The second thing I did was to tackle my gaming backlog again. I failed to complete any games in February, but decided to try again in March. As much fun as it is to play video games, it is a low priority hobby. After all, work, bills, and obligations come first. However, I noticed that if I spend all my time worrying about obligations, I forget to take time out to have fun. Then I resent the fact and a downward spiral begins. That spiral ends in feeling burned out. Playing video games and completing them is a great way to work at a goal, feel accomplished, and relieve stress. Fortunately, I’m on the cusp of finishing a game I’ve been playing off and on for eight years in various forms. (Okami for the curious.) Putting this beast on my completed list is going to feel great.

The last thing I’ve been doing is literally taking care of myself by squaring away outstanding doctor’s appointments. These appointments to see my health providers were made in late December and early January, but I’ve been putting off those office visits. The procrastination was due to my intense dislike of office visits and being stuck in waiting rooms in general. Now that I have my appointments it feels like a huge mental weight has been lifted.

 

Spring is normally viewed as a season of revival and new beginnings. It is certainly starting to feel that way for me. Have you ever felt unfocused in your life? If so, what did you do to reclaim that focus?

Washington DC Cherry Blossoms by Nicolas Raymond of Flickr

Washington DC Cherry Blossoms by Nicolas Raymond of Flickr

