This post piggybacks off my previous post a bit–I’m going to talk about writing and how my creativity has improved since I really started to focus on using my time wisely on my commute. I keep a small notebook in my work bag at all times and I’ve been using it almost every day–to make lists, write down notes and ideas, but mostly to write what I want. I used to write all the time–mostly poetry, but sometimes memoir/essay-esque pieces as well. Once I started my first 9-5 job in an office, I stopped writing for awhile and I felt the loss; recently, though, after waking myself up and asking myself why I’m not writing, I realized that there is no good reason.

When I started writing again, I felt very rusty and I was afraid of putting anything on the page. I was afraid of feeling stupid or less than (which, I told myself, is ridiculous because who’s going to read any of what I write unless I show it to someone?), so I had to force myself to keep going and not quit. I’m so glad I did–once I shook off the cobwebs, so to speak, I felt an amazing power within myself. I can write what I want, when I want, and how I want! How liberating!

I now look forward to getting on the train, putting my headphones on and playing music that relaxes or inspires me, and writing whatever comes to mind. Sometimes I become so engaged with what I’m doing that I almost forget that I have to get off at my stop think this is so important: whatever it is you love, don’t make excuses–just do it. And keep on doing it! Maybe you don’t make money doing it, or maybe you do but it is not your primary source of income; maybe you’ll never make money doing it–who cares? How does it make you feel? I love to write and I love the way it makes me feel and that’s okay with me for now.

What do you love and how do you make time for it?

writing-1209121_960_720

Source.

