There are a lot of changes coming to my office in the coming months. I will talk more specifically about them as the plans become more concrete, but I wanted to write this sort of introductory post to work through some things in my mind.

I don’t like change.

There, I said it. I’m sure many of you reading this right now can relate to me and how I feel; really, in the grand scheme of things, who continually welcomes and enjoys change? Some people do, I’m sure, and I think those people are superstars. How amazing it must be to be so open to adjusting the way you do something or operate in the world!

I’m not like that. I’m reluctant to accept most changes and then I get a little cranky when they happen (because that’s mature and I’m a grown-up lady…). When these big changes were first announced for my office location, I initially when through some of the five stages of grief: denial (oh, for sure), anger (yes, oh yes), bargaining, depression, and acceptance. I think I’m still hovering somewhere in anger and maybe a little in depression? I don’t want you to think that I’m unable to function throughout the course of my day because I’m thinking ahead and planning the ultimate destruction of my way of life (that’s entirely too dramatic and I’d like to think I haven’t gotten to that level yet!), but I am having some trouble accepting that these things are going to happen.

I like routine and knowing what to expect. Sure, I enjoy a good surprise every now and then, but for the every day tasks in my job, I like a bit of order. Now, I know that order will be interrupted and it’s scaring me a little. I’m nervous admitting to this because, to me, it seems like weakness, but I think it’s important for me to write about it. I know others have/had/will have the same thoughts I do about change and I want to be honest about how I’m feeling.

I think the biggest aspect of all this upcoming change that I keep reminding myself about is this: I will be able to settle down into a new routine. My life will not turn into chaos and anarchy–I can survive and thrive, even after this change takes place! Even if I have to remind myself of this every day, multiple times a day, that will be okay. Because it’s important for me to stay positive throughout this time of change.

How about you, readers–have you gone through a big change in your work or personal life that required some “coaching” to get through it?

change wordle
Source.

