First of all, I must apologize for how late this blog is going up. My intention was to have it up on Wednesday, but that slipped into Thursday, then I had to push it aside to make room for some high priority projects.

That leads me to the reason why I’m so short on time as of late. I landed a full-time job at UPS. It is the same seniority-based job I previously wrote about. The only major requirement was being able to type 40 words per minute. The people with more seniority than me either didn’t want the job since it was computer based (or they didn’t like the hours), or they failed the typing test. I was nervous going into the test because of the expectations and pressure (all eyes were figuratively on who would pass the test and get the job), but I passed at 55 words per minute with shaky hands.

I started the job on June 12, and since then it has been a whirlwind of getting used to the new rules at work, learning how going from part-time to full-time affects my pension, vacation, seniority, and just getting used to working from 6PM to 3AM Monday through Friday. Additionally, I’ve been training on how to be a package auditor for international packages. Learning the rules, what forms customs needs, and keying in information as needed (thus the need to type at a minimum of 40 words per minute). It is pretty much an office job in the middle of a very large factory/package hub while working next to huge trucks. This is only half of my night, the other half is being a package handler for domestic parcels which don’t need as much scrutiny– basically same the job I’ve had for years.

Since I’m working a full 40 hours per week, the time crunch is a bit much. So I will be leaving Epic Careering at the beginning of August. I’ll have a separate final post, once everything is said and done. For now, it seems like a good time to start preparing to turn the reins over to my eventual successor.

072 - Keys by Hillary of Flickr

072 – Keys by Hillary of Flickr

